mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

exquisite dead guy

Today is a lazy, lazy day. Lazy like, I didn't want to get out of bed. And then I wanted to stay under the hot water in my shower for hours. Now, I'd like to play the Sims until four a.m.

I DO NOT want to go to work. Not at all, no way, nope.

Tonight is open-mic night at the Java Joint. I found out yesterday that they've started it up again, after a few years, when I went there to meet Erika. We used to spend hours there each week, drinking mochas and eating bagels and listening to poetry and high-school bands. The Java Joint has always been my favorite Las Vegas coffee house-The places near UNLV are packed with snobby, stylish college kids, and I don't do well in crowds like that. Too much anxiety. Cool kids make me nervous.

Erika was an hour late last night, and while I was waiting for her, I met a boy named Josh. We talked for an hour, just the two of us, about music, and school, and about our jobs. It turned out, oddly enough, that we both worked at PBS during the winter of 2001. He was on the phones, and I was stuck on camera duty. We saw each other twice a week, for several months, and we never spoke at all until last night. Anyhow, his band is playing tonight, but I can't go see them. Sigh. Because of work. I hate this "responsible adult" nonsense.

1:52 p.m. - 2003-02-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine