mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

douglas, wyoming

I close my eyes and I'm in Douglas, Wyoming, walking down Harrison Street. To my right there is an auto parts store, and a tiny grocery, and to my left there is a miniscule video rental place and a motel with a sign reading "Jesus is lord- Calling cards sold here." I pass two pawn shops, one on the left and one on the right. I turn, keep walking. The streets are shady, and the houses are small with neat, green yards. A few of the houses have been turned into businesses, vac and sew shops, antique stores. I reach the town's main street- The street with the ice cream parlor, the one-screen movie theatre, the western wear boutiques. It's past 6pm, now, and the doors are all locked, closed signs hanging in the windows. The town's lone tattoo parlor is open, with a few tough looking kids hanging out in front, smoking and drinking cans of beer. I walk into the La Bonte Inn through the attached diner. I make my way through the inn's echoey lobby, clutching my styrofoam cup of dark, oily coffee. Deer and bison stare down at me from high on the wall, their mournful glass eyes shining gold in the setting sun. I step through the glass doors onto the deserted street, and I turn in circles until I see the house on the highest hill in town, Zach's house. I walk back the way I came, dodging kids riding home on bicycles and skateboards, and nervous looking old women holding their purses tight. I walk back the way I came, down this perfect little street in this perfect little town. And I walk. And I walk. I open my eyes.

8:52 a.m. - 2003-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine