mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

geisha shuffle

Updating from Jeromy's sister's bedroom. Cable modem, dudes. I love this thing. Jeromy's gorgeous little nephew is passed out on the bed a few feet away, little boy skinny and breathing steady and I really do love this family. Good people.

I've been thinking about all of the responses I got to my last entry a lot today. I know that how much money you have doesn't reflect your worth. I swear, I know that. I would just... I'd love to not worry about it, to not have to worry about it. I'd love to be able to pay all my bills and have money left over to pay all of my friends' bills, too, and then still have some left over for, you know, food. I think it's such a goddamn shame that we live in a society where the vast majority of people have to spend so much time doing back-breaking labor and budgeting and re-budgeting and paying interest on top of interest on top of interest while the few rich wallow in too much money to ever spend in just one lifetime. My aunt, I don't begrudge her what she's got. Her father, my step-grandfather, survived the Holocaust while twelve of his thirteen brothers and sisters as well as his parents didn't, and he came here and learned to speak English and busted his ass in a hardware store his whole life to send her and her siblings to college. I don't wish she was poor, or anything like that. She's a great, generous lady-- I just wish it was more fair, in general. I know there are people all over the world worse off than I am, and I wish I could fix that. This shit with Medicaid and other givernment aid programs supposedly being cut within the next fifteen years breaks my heart-- If it weren't for Medicaid, I'd probably be dead right now. I had to have serious surgery three times between the age of ten and thirteen, and without Medicaid, that surgery wouldn't even have been an option for my family. And Molu, I got the free lunches, too. I think the only kind of assistance we didn't recieve was the cash, Welfare, because Mom refused to stay out of work and she made too much money. Woah, did I ramble! I just wanted to say thanks for all the kind words. I knew that being poor doesn't mean I'm worthless, but I guess I needed to have somebody remind me.

Jeromy just came up behind me a few minutes ago and scared the shit out of me. He whispered, "See how quiet I was? I walked on the balls on my feet." He's been nagging at me to walk more quietly. He says I stomp around my heels and I make the floors shake. I've been practicing my geisha shuffle. Gotta keep the people downstairs happy, I guess.

Take care everybody. Don't worry about anything today.

10:43 p.m. - 2004-03-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine