mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ill take everything from you

Urg urg. Day before yesterday, Crystal and I found an apartment. It's nice enough-- three bedrooms, two bathrooms, washer & dryer, blah, blah, blah. We ventured out of my beloved Henderson a little bit further than we intended, though. Ah, well. We talked, too, about the doubts and concerns both of us have, and I think things are better now. Later in the evening, we went to see the Plea For Peace tour at the House of Blues-- Mike Park, Saul Williams, and Cursive. I promptly started drinking at the bar, but stopped just as quick because the drinks were 7.75 APIECE. Yes, 7.75. Next time I'm going to strap a flask to my thigh. Heh. Anyhow, Saul Williams was positively incredible, eloquent and passionate and irreverent and funny. He read two of his poems and spoke about the current state of the country, the role of religion in past and current wars, and prejudice... wonderful, really. I was riveted, drunk and weaving and wobbly and absolutely enchanted. It's a great feeling, knowing that there's a voice for Us-- you know who I mean-- that is willing and capable of educating people who haven't been exposed to these ideas before. Saul talked about the exclusion of female energy and entities in Western religions versus Eastern religions, and about the role of the media in the perception of political issues. I could hear Crystal clapping and hollering behind me the whole time. Cursive played after Saul finished, and we lucked out and got a spot right near the stage. I kept expecting-- even though I fought it like crazy-- to turn a corner, open a door, descend a flight of stairs and see Matt standing there. I just... knew he would be there. I felt it. He sent me this letter once, after a big falling out, and he included this Cursive line: "Who told you love was fleeting/ Sometimes men can be so misleading/ To get what they need from you." And I was drunk and emotional and I cried a little bit when they played that part of the song. I think I let go of the last tiny bit of bad feelings that were hanging around inside me, too-- Because hearing it was an apology for the past year. Ahem. So.

Work in a hour. Clothing. Makeup. Feed the animals. I've got to go now. Take care, yous.

And Molly, hi! I just bought a big book of Joyce Carol Oates' short stories and I bet you'd love her if you don't already, which you probably do. And Molly, I hope things are good where you are.

3:55 p.m. - 2004-06-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine