mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wait for your miracles

I clipped a picture at age fourteen, a black and white photo from Time Magazine and I looked at it with old eyes. I stared at it as someone else.
My grandfather, I could never ask him, and even if I did, his accent would have been too thick for me to understand. But I would stare at that blue ink when he dozed off in his chair, the spidery digits, a one eight six and others I don't remember. His daughter, my aunt, made a remark about his smoking: All those survivors, they don't care about lung cancer.
And now I make myself a story, create a web inside my mind to trap these doubts and to give myself purpose. Seven years too old, but I swear my eyes stay the same. A young boy, a young girl, an old woman with flowing white hair; My eyes always stay the same.

4:23 a.m. - 2005-10-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine