mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Set Out Running

Tonight, I went on The Date.

And I ENJOYED myself. I really and truly did.

Josh is tall and skinny and a little bit geeky looking. He wears a watch with a calculator on it. That kind of geeky. However, as I am sure I have said before, looks don't mean so much to me. I mean, my last date was gorgeous, physically fantastic, and also as dumb as a post. Posts are very dumb, trust me.

Anyhow, tonight's date. Josh picked me up at 5:30pm. He is very prompt, and I am very appreciative of promptness. From my apartment, we headed to a place downtown called the Iowa Cafe. It was my first time there, and I was thoroughly charmed. Its tiny, mostly deserted, and cute as hell. Josh and I were the only ones there for "game night," so we set our Scrabble board, and after a minute or so, a couple of women joined us at our table. Renee was a forty year old poet (and Scrabble WHIZ, for chrissakes) and Pat, her mother, is a sixty-something yenta with a Bostonian accent. Cute, cute, cute. I won the game by ONE point. I had to resist the urge to gloat. I had beaten a woman who scored 39 points off of the world XU. Anyhow, Renee and Pat and I talked and talked and talked, and then Josh began feeling neglected and asked if I'd mind passing on the second game. Of course, I didn't and so we all said our goodbyes, and Josh and I began the drive to the Forums for dinner.

We ate at the Cheesecake Factory, which I had always assumed to be a semi-pricy place. It wasn't, but it didn't matter anyway, because Josh paid for everything. I was so suprised. I can't even remember the last time a date insisted on paying for me. It was sweet. (No, I don't mind going dutch at all, and in fact, I normally prefer it, but this was just such a kind gesture on his part.) Anyhow, Josh is incredibly intelligent, and well-spoken. And he isn't bossy, or desperate, or smelly.

Sigh. I think I'm in like.

1:41 a.m. - 2002-09-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine