mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

...behind the wheel of a large automobile...

For the past week or so, I've been putting off writing because I'm trying to think of a semi-intelligent way to express my feelings, but I think that that is very near impossible. For me, anyhow, and for now.

The boy of this weekend is hogging all of the space in my brain. Every time I get a handle on myself, I remember some silly little detail that catapults me back into a state of melty dreamy giddiness. Because (sigh) he is so incredibly different from any other boy I have ever anything-ed- liked, kissed, dated, et cetera. He's a mechanic, for one. He likes sports, and cars, and beer, and baseball caps. I have crushed on musicians and poets and writers and computer programmers and webmasters and listless lost souls, but never a sports-loving, beer-drinking mechanic.

Is the standard bohemian-boy wooing routine effective with this sort of guy? I mean, should I try to strike up deep, meaningful conversations, or should I just keep it light? (Not to say, by the way, that this boy is not smart. He is, he is. It's always been my theory that mechanics are really closet intellectuals. I mean, christ, you have to be pretty sharp to be able to work on cars. I know, because I got a low 'C' in auto tech my sophomore year. Anyway, I don't like stupid boys, no matter how pretty they are. He is no exception.) Am I supposed to be cool and pretend that I don't care whether or not he likes me? Oh, sigh.

Anyway, the rest of the weekend was great, too. Crystal 2 and I spent every single day together, giggling like little girls almost non-stop. She stayed over on Sunday night, and after we slept off our hangovers, we spent Monday together, too. We bought these ridiculous trucker hats from the Salvation Army- You know the ones, stiff foam fronts and plastic mesh backs, with cheesy slogans on them. Mine is red, with a white front, and it says, "5th Annual Bathtub BBQ!" with a picture of a smiling pig in a tub. Hers is all yellow, and it says simply, "Truck King." I insisted that we wear them all day. Maybe it sounds stupid in writing- Well, it IS kind of stupid- But it was pretty damned fun to spend time being dorky and goofy with a good friend.

Besides, I got a great hat out of the deal. Win-win.

11:37 p.m. - 2002-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine