mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Jesus. So THIS is what the world looks like at six a.m. It's been over two years since I've been awake at this hour. I'd forgotten what mornings in the wintertime were like, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. It's freezing cold, and pitch dark outside, and the only sounds right now are the loud grumbles of passing trucks. No birds, just traffic.

News on the Newberg trial has been on every station this morning. Steven Newberg is a local man who is accused of raping several women, including a fourteen year old relative. Channel three has been playing bits of a tape that Newberg had in his home, of him having sex with the girl. You can hear her saying,"No, Steven, that hurts. No," and everytime it comes on, I'm slapped by a wave of nausea. When I was working with the SafeHouse shelter, I learned that over 25% of all women have been or will be raped in their lifetime, although only about half ever report it. My Mother, even, was raped when she was a teenager, and she never told anyone.

I'm going to try to push my anger aside for now- I've got work to do today. If I dwell on things like this, things that I cannot change or fix, I go crazy. Can't be having any of that right now.

6:25 a.m. - 2003-01-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine