mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and vice versa

Aa few weeks ago, I was talking to a dear friend of mine about the situation my Mother had gotten herself into. Her live-in boyfriend, Gavin, hadn't worked in over six months. He was drinking non-stop, calling her names, and, on one occasion, he even choked her. She gave him a second chance, and then a third, and a forth, and she didn't seem to realize that he was never going to change. Anyhow, my friend, Andrew, told me that my Mmother reminded him of a line in a song. The song was "Carry the Zero," and the line goes like this:

I'm surprised that you want to carry this on- Count your blemishes; You can't. They're all gone.

I played the song for my Mom last week, and when that part came close, I told her to listen to the words very carefully. She heard them, and she smiled a very sad and weary smile, and she said nothing.

Within the week, Gavin was out of the house for good.

I've been repeating those words to myself over and over, in the hopes that the same magic will work on me.

11:16 p.m. - 2003-01-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine