mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shut-down, exploded

Oh, lord, lord. Talk about a lack of free time. Some genius at work scheduled me for two graveyard (12am to 8am) shifts on Wednesday and Thursday, and two day (7:30am to 3:30pm) shifts on Saturday and Sunday. It only sounds like I have Friday off. I don't, really, because I don't finish Thursday's shift until 8am Friday morning. Oh, and I am, according to a flyer I saw at work "cordially invited to a mandatory meeting" at 3pm on Friday afternoon. It'll be fun, trying desperately to regulate my poor, battered sleeping schedule. La Verne is going to hate me after this weekend, I'm sure. I'll have to make up for it by taking her to the park on Sunday, and spoiling her rotten during the few hours in between appointments.

I went, finally, to my friend Chris's used bookstore today. It was amazing, this tiny little space crammed to the gills with all sorts of novels and do-it-yourself guides and self-help books and shelves and shelves of horror and sci-fi and romance and philosophy. I traded in a few books that I had acquired somehow (I don't actually know how, for most of them) over the years, and in exchange, I got the Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy, and it's sequels, Neil Gaiman, a few children's books, John Irving, HG Wells, Emily Bronte, Carl Hiaasen, and a dozen more. I'm set with reading material for the next month or two.

I also fell deeply, madly in love with the girl who works at the coffee shop next door. She was cute, and shy, and wearing big, baggy clothing and a head scarf. I think I'll go back, sometime this week, and try to find out what she's like.

Anyway, I'm off to work now. I'll be dragging along a few of my new novels, to make the night pass by a little quicker. Should be fun.

10:24 p.m. - 2003-03-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine