mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

back here

Last night was a good night.

Crystal, Ashley, and I went to the Gay Pride parade that was being held downtown, at the Fremont Street Experience. It was amazing- There were feelings of love and acceptance in the air, and no one was immune to their affects. We saw a young Asian boy in a t-shirt reading "I Blow" holding hands with a muscular Latino in a shirt that said "Rim" in matching lettering. We saw a sixty-something woman throwing leis and blowing kisses to another older woman in the crowd. We saw girls with short, spiky haircuts walking beside their proud parents, some wearing PFLAG shirts and rainbow pins. It was great being there- For the first time, I didn't feel uncomfortable answering questions about my own sexuality. Usually, I get squirmy and stuttery when people ask me about my orientation. Am I a lesbian? No, I like boys. So, I must be straight then. No, I like girls, too. Oh, so I must be bi! Yeah, well, kinda. Sorta. (I hate telling people that I'm bisexual- They seem to take it as some sort of green-light to ask me if I'd like to participate in bizarre sex acts with them. Gross. And it's so goddamned en vogue these days that I usually just shut up about before anyone decides that I'm in cahoots with Those Girls. You know the ones.) We saw several kids that we'd gone to school with, kids that used to walk with their heads down and their shoulders slumped. One of them, a boy named Steven- I remember him as a shy, bookworm- was on one of the floats shaking his ass in flower-print shorts and a lei. Talk about coming out, eh?

Oh, and starting on May 16th, it'll be Gay Pride weekend in Long Beach, so pack up some rainbow beads and go.

6:52 a.m. - 2003-05-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine