mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

=12Cat on --the K5eyboardu6yhi----

My bosses- the ones who try their hardest to to put me on the wackiest, most screwed-up schedules- had another brainstorm this week and decided that I should work two graveyard shifts (12am to 8am) and two day shifts (8am to 4pm). Fun stuff, dudes. Me, sleep deprived and crabby and completely out of it, and a room full of stupid, incompetent co-workers, and impatient, evil customers. I can deal with it all right after lots and lots of sleep and lots and lots of coffee, but if I haven't had a good night's rest, forget it. Money is money, though, and I like having enough money to pay the rent and buy food and have air conditioning and hot water. Big fan of electricity.

I know it's probably stupid for me to be thinking about this stuff already, but I've been imagining all of the fun stuff I'll do once I'm a teacher. I want to be one of those teachers that the kids really love and listen to, one of the "cool" teachers. I'll take my kids on all sorts of trips, to museums and to zoos and aquariums and on nature walks, and we'll have a bunch of class pets and we'll make things for our friends and families and I'll read them the best books and we'll watch really good movies and maybe I can have some of my friends come in and play the guitar or piano for them and it's going to be great. Oh, and I'll also teach them to never, ever write such long sentences. Maybe it's silly, but the idea of helping a new generation turn out better than the last really excites me. It makes me happy. I haven't had very many teachers that have affected me profoundly- just one in elementary school, and a few in high school- but I still think about the ones that did. When I was in third grade, the counselor, Mrs. Duhaney, taught me something that still shapes the way I respond to certain people and situations. I was nine years old, completely miserable, coming to school with new bruises and welts each week- CPS was actually called in several times, to no avail- and she gave me a piece of advice that changed the way I saw the world. She said, "Angela, you can't change people. You can't change the way they treat others or what they believe in or how they feel. You can only change you, and how you let them affect you." If I could make that much of a difference to one kid, it'd make this whole big mess mean something. I want to be a rock for some sad, lost child the way she was for me. I'm probably being naive, I know, but that's what I'm going to be aiming for.

I'm going to try to squeeze in an episode or two of BTVS before I go to sleep, but you can expect a much more jaded, angry entry later, I'm sure.

Take care, everybody.

8:23 a.m. - 2003-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine