mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goodbye

It's been a bad week.

I've been trying to force myself to write in here for days, it's just... Blechh. I can't think of how to say anything I want to say.

My Grandfather died on Sunday. I should know, by now, that when the telephone rings at 6am on a weekend, something terrible has happened, but I wasn't ready for this. We all knew that he was going to die soon, but I don't think anybody thought it would be this soon- Then again, I hadn't seen him for six months. Mom said he had wasted away. So I answered the telephone, and Mom told me, and I said, "I'll be there in a few minutes." I woke Jeromy up, and we left. He dropped me off in front of Grandma's house. It... God. I'm going to skip the part with the Medical Examiner and I'm going to skip the partt where Nicole and I went into Grandpa's bedroom to say goodbye to him, and I'm going to tell you about the toast- Mom handed everybody a beer and we toasted Grandpa, my gruff, funny, hard-as-nails Grandpa John.

And so it goes. I'm always going to remember the way he kicked everybody out of the kitchen when he was cooking our Thanksgiving dinner- My poor Grandma would try to get in there to help and he'd growl, "Get outta the kitchen, woman!" And when I was little, they had this fat Yorkie named Bear, and Grandpa John spoiled that dog so bad. They owned a bar back then, and Bear lived on potato chips and pickled eggs and mozzarella cheese sticks. He had a massive collection of these bawdy tee-shirts, the ones that say stuff like, "I Lost My Ass in Las Vegas," with a picture of a donkey. He was a funny guy, a cool old guy.

So tip your beers to him tonight, guys.

2:58 p.m. - 2003-07-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine