mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

miniskirt girl

I don't care what anybody says, Matt Freeman is such a good goddamn bassist. One of the best, I think. I never really paid a lot of attention to the bass until I heard the song "Roots Radicals," with it's fast, prominent bassline, and then I was hooked and I got myself a bass guitar and I learned to play a handful of punk songs. I don't really play much, anymore, and I didn't really get that far, but I still remember all those songs perfectly. This may sounds silly, but I think that that song- "Roots Radicals"- kinda set me up to become the person I am now. I was a grungy thirteen year old, a tomboy, a nerd, a little bit hopeless and prone to depression, and that was the first punk rock song I'd ever heard. Punk rock has such energy and passion, and that was what I needed then, some way to relate to other people. I bought "And Out Come the Wolves," and then the previous two Rancid albums, and then NOFX and Screeching Weasel and Youth Brigade, and I dyed my hair and wore ripped-up mini-skirts and hightop Chucks and I went to shows and met people that I still adore to this day, and I'm grateful for that. I'm glad I got the chance to dance with a hundred other sweaty, screaming kids in front of tiny, rickety stages, and I'm glad that I got to belt out song lyrics on the front rail at shitty venues with my closest friends, and I'm glad glad glad that when I needed it most, I knew that I wasn't alone in feeling like I was going to explode from all of the energy and excitement and anger and joy inside of me. Everybody should have that.

I'm going out with my girl Crystal today- and, by the way, that was how we met, because we both went to all of the punk rock shows- and I'm gonna buy her a cup of coffee and remind her of the fierce girls we used to be, taking the bus to the Huntridge together, and dancing with each other while the band played, and feeling like we'd live forever.

6:46 p.m. - 2003-08-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine