mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on yr side like new jersey

He answers the phone and I say, hey, hey, where've you been? I say, I called you to wish you a happy birthday on Friday but you weren't home. Deep sigh. I'm thinking maybe his car broke down, maybe he couldn't renew his license after all. My Dad died, he says, and then thirty-thousand lifetimes pass and I'm sure he said "My Granddad," that his Granddad died. He breathes in and repeats himself. My Dad died. Saturday morning. Aneurysm.

---

This man was quiet and still, crazy Andy Warhol hair, tough and gruff and he raised the best goddamned person I've ever met, my Matt, my best friend, the one I'm always gonna love like no one else.

---

All I could think to do was tell him that I loved him, that I loved him so much and that I'd be around for anything he needed. After I hung up that phone I sat down hard on the floor and started crying for a man I didn't know, a man I wanted to know. Matt. Matt Matt Matt. I love you. I will always love you. Know this now. Okay?

2:34 a.m. - 2003-09-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine