mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hearts

Twenty minutes before I've got to leave for work, and I'm sitting here in underwear and a dirty shirt, wet hair, no makeup, and I don't know where I put my shoes last night. Well. I'm working with the June tonight, so I could come in a few hours late and get away with it. The June, man, she's crazy. I love her. She's about sixty-something, and she wears at least five-thousand dollars worth of jewelry to work every day. She worked in a truck-stop in Illinois for twenty years, so she has the dirtiest mouth- She's been known to tell customers that she always puts her glasses on before sex because they make everything look bigger. (Our customers, mind you, have an average age of about seventy. Most of 'em come in with walkers or wheelchairs.) She greets me every day by singing a song about how much she loves to do the hoochie coochie or sometimes one about burlesque girls. God bless her. Oh, and when she laughs, she sounds just like Phyllis Diller. Love it.

I'm thinking of joining a gym. Lame? I feel like an idiot for paying $30 a month to ride a stationary bike and lift a few weights, but it's still so HOT here. It's October, and the temperature is in the nineties. In November, we actually have a rainy season-- That is, for a week or two, the streets flood, and we have the occasional hail storm. Last year, I was riding my bike to work when the rain started, and I opened my little umbrella and balanced it on my shoulder... Which worked out fine until the wind blew it backwards and the chunks of ice flying at me poked a thousand ragged holes in it. Fun! So, back to the point: I'm joining a gym. Not so much to lose weight-- I've kind of accepted my semi-fatness-- but to gain STRENGTH. Alright.

2:18 p.m. - 2003-10-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine