mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mom

My Mom is in the hospital today. My Mom is in the hospital today. My Mom is in the hospital today. Chest pain, she said, she said dizziness and numbness in her extremities and horrible pressure inside of her ribcage. It hit me last night that my Mom is going to die someday, and it could be someday soon. My Mom has this strange obsession with death-- Almost every day, she tells my sister and I that she'll be dead before she turns fifty-five. She believes it, too. That's the scariest part. She told me once that she went to a fortune teller who predicted she'd die at age fifty-two. She looked at me soberly and said, "She's got the gift, Angela, she knows. She's Polish."

So I lived alone and paid my bills and supported myself for two years, but I'm no woman. I'm no adult. I want my Mom right now, more than anything else in the world.

11:24 a.m. - 2003-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine