mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

how long will you stare

I'm caught up in life right now, and I like it. There isn't really enough time to analyze and remember and pore over every detail like there was before, when I was sitting on the sidelines, hence the irregular/shitty/short entries. You understand, right? You care, right? I miss FRANCES. I'm going to email her right now, as a matter of fact, just to say hi.

Done.

Minor falling out with my English instructor today-- see, I was used to the quiet, sweet, unusual woman that taught me last semester, and this time around, I got her polar opposite. In the last class, we wrote fiction. In this class, we ANALYZE it, and I am discovering that I really do not like analying literature as much as I thought I would. Maybe this sounds ridiculous-- I'm next positive it will-- but I think analysis of literature is completely useless. Sure, most authors have a specific audience, and a specific message that they're trying to send, but that's the great thing about art: People can twist it and turn it and apply it to their own lives, their own experiences. It's true for music, and the visual arts, and it sure as hell is very true for literature. For example, the perpetually stoned twenty-something boy that sits in front of me selected the same piece that I did, and the major theme he detected was growing up, coming of age. What stood out most to me was the deep, almost symbiotic friendship between the two main characters. See? I hate that this instructor is taking something so open to interpretation and imposing finite answers as to what a reader should think. That's just me, I guess. Anyhow, when she looked at my paper and shook her head, I kinda sorta shot off at the mouth. I told her that she was too vague about the assignment, and that she obviously hadn't read my paper, blah, blah. And then I apologized.

Today, I bought new blue jeans.

1:39 a.m. - 2004-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine