mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

better person

I was considering doing a kind of belated 2005 summary, but I figure I've already summarized it about 30,000 times in all of my little spiral notebooks and really, I'd like to be done thinking about 2005 for awhile, until maybe 2008 or 2009. So instead, behold this: my very ambitious list of Things to Achieve in 2006. See, my boss said something very resonant a few weeks ago-- we were both fairly tossed at the company party, and he looked right at me and asked what the hell I was doing. In general, he meant. I said I didn't know. He told me that if I kept up this way I would know a little bit about a lot of things but really, I wouldn't know shit. And somehow that made perfect sense to me coming from the mouth of one of the people I respect most. So, here goes. Who I am, now, and then this, the person I want to be:
2006
1. Get the basics covered, i.e. learn to fucking drive. Really this time. I am not some enlightened anti-car pedestrian, I am a scaredy-cat carless loser. Look for this in about March.
2. Undertake ONE major learning task. I'm torn between learning to speak fluent Spanish and learning to play the piano. My goal is to have begun by August at the latest.
3. Make more friends. Or even not. Really, I just want to participate. This week, my cousin Wil and I actually got a chance to talk to one another as HUMANS, not family, and I was kind of embarrassed by how shy and silly I tend to be about social interactions. So I'm going to try harder to get out there and exist, dammit.

... possible? Do you think maybe yes?

I really want to get this right this time.

2:38 p.m. - 2006-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine