mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I'm putting together a mini-book club for myself and some friends to participate in this winter. I'm doing this because I really need to meet some new people, preferably people who can string together a handful of words to form intelligent, coherent sentences-- or even incoherent intelligent sentences-- but also because over the past two years or so, I have fallen into a literary slump. I still read, but I read less, and I read the same things over and over. I would say that over the past two years, I have read about 150-200 books total, but maybe 60 different books. I view my favorites as safe places, so when I am searching my shelves, I'm probably more likely to grab Slaughterhouse Five or Alice's Adventures in Wonderland than Finnegan's Wake. I've read Garp (I've nicknamed a book, that's how familiar we are) about ten times since I was 20 or 21. I've read the entire Sandman series about five times in the same period. A Prayer for Owen Meany, about seven or eight. Breakfast of Champions at least twelve. See what I mean? I don't want to get to the point where the idea of reading anything new is so intimidating that I just lock myself up with my musty old favorites and refuse to read anything else.
I have actually read quite a few books in my life, but I have always shunned "The Classics," mainly because Dickens makes me want to shoot myself, that wordy bastard, and Wharton is boring as hell, and don't get me started on Chaucer or Proust... but maybe it's time I gave them a new look, eh?
My quest for new literature led me to several websites that contain lists of the top 10/20/100/27891 books every college student should read. So far, I have compiled a list of about 25 books that are apparently essential for my educational development. Here's the list-- please give input!
In No Particular Order:
Democracy in America-- Alexis de Toqueville
The Divine Comedy-- Dante Alighieri
The Republic-- Plato
City of God-- St. Augustine
Animal Farm-- George Orwell
The Public Philosophy-- Walter Lippman
Life After God-- Douglas Coupland
Midnight's Children-- Salman Rushdie
Wise Blood-- Flannery O'Connor
The Unbearable Lightness of Being-- Milan Kundera
Lolita-- Vladimir Nabokov
Native Son-- Richard A Wright
Why We Can't Wait-- Martin Luther King Jr.
My Name is Asher Lev-- Chaim Potok
Fear and Trembling-- Soren Kierkegaard
I, Robot-- Isaac Asimov
The Prince-- Nico Machiavelli
Of Human Bondage-- W. Somerset Maugham
Siddhartha-- Herman Hesse
One Hundred Years of Solitude-- Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Love in the Time of Cholera-- Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Caligula-- Albert Camus
Confederacy of Dunces-- John Kennedy Toole
Fanny Hill-- John Cleland

Input is so totally welcome.

7:07 p.m. - 2006-09-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine