mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dont need your love

I just want to find something worth holding on to forever, okay? And it could be a man or it could be a woman or it could be my brain or an ability but something, I want something true.

I've been thinking about my decision at age twelve not to have a conversion even though my fucking god I wanted a bat mitzvah so bad, just like my sister did and I hope she didn't opt out for the same reason I did, which was that no matter what I would never really be Jewish. I was red-haired and freckled, tan in the summer but not tanned like the Israeli kids that stayed with the Rabbi's family each August and went to our little day camp with stories of the place our grandparents called the Mother Land. I always wished--still wish-- that I had faith, religious faith, any faith, faith in the sun coming up, even, because I've learned that nothing is permanent.

12:13 a.m. - 2006-10-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine