mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Recovery

Mere moments after I finished typing my last entry, Matt and I had a horrendous blow-up that we are just barely recovered from a week later. I forget, sometimes, exactly what is going on inside of his head. I forget that he isn't-- and I hate using this word but it is the only one I can come up with-- "normal." We spent ten minutes arguing and the next three days in a weird state of making up, me guilt-filled and scared that he was going to leave, him emotionally exhausted and pretending everything was just fine. On Tuesday he called me while I was at work and asked if I would support his decision to put in his notice at work, and I know this sounds crazy but I was ecstatic to hear that-- he hates his job, I hate his job, so my response was yes, of course. On Wednesday, he called me in a state of panic because his older brother had been missing for four days, turned out he checked himself into a motel to drink alone for the better part of the week. Matt came home later that evening after the impromptu intervention he and his family staged and my heart ached for him. He looked at me with those eyes, and he was tired and hurting, and he said, "I just had to sell my brother his own life." So where are we now? It has been one week since our breakdown and I think I have realized what I need to change about my own behavior. For three or four days after the fight I was a wreck, thinking that maybe I should just end it because I make it worse for him, I hurt him more and more, he'd be better without me, but that was a cop-out on my part. Things are almost back to normal now.

10:05 a.m. - 2008-07-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine