mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 18

Day eighteen and Chris said it best-- that he wanted this past month to replay over and over again, like in Groundhog Day. My baby is getting bigger already. His face has changed from a tiny mirror image of my own and is getting to look more like his Father's, this dimple that appears on his right cheek when he smirks, his eyes turning that beautiful shade of green. Before he came, I was terrified that my hair trigger temper would flare at that grating newborn cry, that I was incapable of patience and tenderness. Nature is smart. His cry hurts me, in a way that I hadn't expected. So small, so vulnerable. It is an intense thing to be in charge of a brand-new life. If I do a good job, if I am a role-model, if I teach him all of the right things, this eight and a half pounds of milky cheeks and perfect baby feet and serious eyes could grow up to do wonderful things. The alternative is too scary to think of. Sometimes, I will look at Chris and say, "Oh my GOD, WE ARE PARENTS." And every parent says this, I know, but lord, he is just perfect.

1:41 a.m. - 2011-06-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine