mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

My son is one year old today. Well, yesterday, technically. I wish there was some way I could explain this feeling that wasn't trite or cliched but I cannot. Being a mother has made me into a person I genuinely like, for the first time in my life. I want to be all of the things my son should be-- brave and assertive, kind and patient, loving and dedicated, smart, hard-working. It isn't hard. I didn't know that I could shift so easily. I want to give him all of the best things life has to offer. I have never loved like this before. My little baby boy. One year ago I was cut open, I was raw and depressed from the hormonal dump, I was exhausted and scared and didn't feel that instant wave of overwhelming motherly love. And now I cannot imagine a world without my son. Everything I have done in my life, every mistake, every bad choice and every good one, every friend and every loss and every second all came together at just the right moment for him to grow inside of me and be born into the world and to grow into the sweet little kid he is today and will be tomorrow. Love him. He made me the version of myself I am today. Excited for all of the birthdays to come.

12:06 a.m. - 2012-06-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine