mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ill Get Through This

When I wrote yesterday, I was getting ready to go to work at the same time, which is why I didnt get to go into as much detail as Id have liked.

Ill make uo for that now.

***

Matt and I arrived at Tremorz way too early- About 30 minutes before even the openers were scheduled to play. We walked down to the cafe, which was (thankfully) nearly empty- I hate having to fight my way through the crowds of "cool" kids in order to purchase my standard italian soda.

Matt paid for the drinks. I was stunned. : ))

We had only taken a few sips of our drinks each when we decided to go wait patiently for Jonah upstairs.

The first band that played was called "Not From Here." Incidentally, the guitarist and lead singer was a guy I had known briefly when I was about 15. He looks like Andre The Giant, and his name is Ham. I never say hi to him when I see him in public, because not everyone has been blessed with such an annoyingly photographic memory, and the chance that he remembers me is pretty slim.

Between Not From Here and the next band, Matt and I ran into Sasha, a girl that I was very cruel to last year.

She was trying to strike up a conversation with me, and I was answering her in one-word increments, saying, "Yeah," "Sure," "Great," etcetera.

The second she walked away, I felt like a jerk, so I wrote an apology note and gave it to her and squeezed her around the waist really hard.

I missed Sasha. I hated myself for deserting her like I did.

Saying sorry was a good feeling. I hate hating.

The second group of the evening, Sloe (like the gin), was incredible- Fast, and noisy, yet melodic at the same time. I really enjoyed watching them play, and I will be looking forward to seeing them again.

Jonah even got up and sang a song with them, which I (shouldnt have, but did) found mildly suprising.

Sloe finished their set, I applauded wildly, and I promptly headed for the bathroom as to avoid social interaction during the intermission.

After I decided to stop being a coward, I found Matt and Sasha, and we went and stood directly in front of the stage. We watched as Jonah did sound-check, and as he placed R2-D2 on an over-turned milk crate, and we started smiling like idiots when the lights went down.

The whole atmosphere in the room changed once Jonah spoke. Everybody started looking... Serene. Angelic. The little hardcore jerks that make a hobby of being mean looked like peaceful little cherubs. It was unreal!

Jonah, of course, was the most angelic-looking of everybody. With the exception of myself, nobody ever glanced away from the stage, not even for a second. He was a really wonderful performer- I forgot that I was standing in a tiny, humid room, I forgot that my feet hurt, and I forgot about all of the things that were making me angry and sad. I felt like I was in somebodys living room, watching a friend goof off for my benefit.

It was just... Well... It was probably the best thing that has happened to me in months.

I highly HIGHLY recommend that anybody who has a chance see Sloe and Onelinedrawing perform live.

1:22 p.m. - 2002-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine