mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We're Still Here, Scarred But Here

New diary look, obviously. Do you like it? Oh, and since I finally have a credit card (because Im an adult, like I mentioned) I am now a paying Gold Member. Fun.

Enough of that.

Matt's birthday is exactly one week away. Should I get him a gift? A card? Should I call him? We haven't spoken in well over three months now, so I'm really quite lost on what the proper etiquette for this situation is.

On a completely different note, I noticed something suprising today: Normally, when I smile at cute/handsome boys/girls, they do not smile back. Usually, they don't even notice me. Today, though, I was out and around with Erika, laughing and enjoying myself, and people started noticing me like crazy! Smiling at me, unprompted even!

I should start enjoying myself in public more often.

Being with Erika makes me brave, I think. Have I ever told you about our friendship at all? We met seven years ago, in junior high. She was one of those cool grunge-goth kids, and I was a nerdy, bespectacled tomboy. One day in our drama class, she noticed a sticker on my binder featuring a then cool, now embarassing rock band. A friendship was forged. We did lots of crazy, bad girl things together, and our parents eventually forbid us from seeing each other. We ignored them, of course. She is by far my dearest and truest friend.

Erika is the reason I walk the way I do. I used to watch the way she strode into a room, with her shoulders straight and her eyes staring dead ahead. She looked so unafraid, so ready to take on the world. Anytime I was tossed into a new, scary situation, I would remember how strong she was, and suddenly, I could pull off the stride just as well.

Now that I'm a little bit older and a touch wiser, I can recognize how important true friends are.

I'm glad.

12:45 a.m. - 2002-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine