mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

waking eternal

So, I haven't slept in some 32 hours, now, and my brain has grown legs and is traveling the neighborhood on foot.

Seriously, really, my head feels like it is attached to a single, thin thread, which is tied to my wrist.

Why no sleep, you ask? Last night, at about two a.m, I jokingly suggested that Tony drive here from Irvine, CA, and keep me company. He replied, "Okay," and paid no attention to my whiny-insecure-baby attempts to dissuade him. Flash forward to seven a.m, and Tony himself is knocking on my front door, whilst I quiver and shiver and worry on the other side.

There was really no reason to worry, though, because he is nicenicenice and laid-back and he didn't even get upset when he discovered that his entirely black outfit was covered with strands of LaVerne's long, white hair. Fur. Whatever. We listened to music for awhile, and then embarked upon a mini-adventure around the city. We met (kind of) what had to be the WORLD'S MOST INTELLIGENT BABY, at Einstein's Bagels, for one. She was chubby and cute and completely taken with me. She would stare and smile, and then frown, and glare, and make spitty burbling baby noises in our general direction. At one point, we watched her figure out how to buckle and unbuckle the safety strap on her high-chair. She must have been about one and a half, two at the most. The other baby at her table, the stupid baby, did nothing interesting at all. She just gummed her bagel and stared off into space. I liked the smart baby best, better than all of the other patrons (except for Tony) COMBINED. Why did I just write so much about a baby that I've never seen before? I don't know. Brain not working.

After that, we went to the comic book store near the college, the one that I've been too intimidated to enter, until today. Tony knows everything about every comic book, ever, and the writers, and the artists, and the companies, and so I finally felt like I could stride right into Alternate Reality, judgemental comic nerds be damned.

We ended up purchasing the book I'd been questing after at Border's, though. I still enjoyed my trip into the previously forbidden store, I did.

Before Tony left, at six p.m, we watched I Am Sam, and I cried, and Tony cried, and I wanted to reach over and hug him, because there is something very touching about a tall, black-clad, boot-wearing boy being completely unashamed of crying at a movie.

Oh! I also purchased a (Harold, Harold!) LOWERCASE cd. And it's good. And I like it.

And I'm going to sleep, now, I think. Maybe.

7:33 p.m. - 2003-03-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine