mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

where atlanta lies, where atlanta is tonight

About me:

I am a regular-looking girl, brown eyes, dark hair. I wear glasses to correct my horrible, horrible vision, and although they used to be pretty fashionable glasses, my cat chewed on the earpiece and one of the lenses, and now they match the rest of me. My wardrobe consists of three pairs of jeans, about twenty tee-shirts, a pair of running shoes, and black and blue Chuck Taylors. I'm a little on the fat side, although nobody I know will actually agree with me. I'm short, really short, and my body is shaped like an acoustic guitar.

I live with a dog, and a cat, in a one bedroom apartment in the middle of a run-down working-class neighborhood. If I look out my front window, I see the mountains and backyards and the orange traffic cones on the street over. If I look out the back window, I see more mountains and cars and factories and the lights of the Strip. I have a few paintings on my walls, a few posters, a few framed photographs, mainly of burlesque girls. My carpet is grey and blue. My walls are white.

I don't have very many friends, even though a lot of people try really hard to get to know me. I feel strange and out-of-place often, and it's safe to say that with the exception of a few good moments, I feel like this all the time. Seeing certain everyday sights can put me in tears, like small children smiling at me through car windows, or old women tottering feebly through the supermarket. I don't know why. My best friend says I probably creep parents out because I talk to their kids and ignore them.

Sometimes, I fantasize about packing up my pets and a few clean shirts and buying a bus ticket to a small city across the country. I imagine not telling anyone where I'm going, or where to reach me. I pretend that I'm leaving everything behind. I could start over, clean slate, new name, new friends, no one to call me on my birthday or Christmas. I could become somebody completely different and mysterious and exciting and full of life and love, and I wouldn't be just one more lonely, faceless person. I could be anything, even happy and content.

I could be anything...

2:50 a.m. - 2003-04-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine