mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walk Away, Again

All that stuff I said I was going to do yesterday, I didn't do any of it. I found out, at about 11 am, that my landlord was giving me a new air conditioner, and I decided to celebrate by (party, dude!) rearranging my furniture. That's always a bad idea, rearranging furniture when you haven't slept for a whole day. Come one pm, my apartment was a wreck- a shelving unit in the kitchen, dresser drawers on the bed, mountains of paper on the sofa- and I was ready to go to bed. I started putting the dresser drawers away, clearing a spot to lay down, when I saw a huge brown spider make a mad dash up my bedskirt. Normally, when I find bugs or spiders in my house, I pick them up in a tissue and toss them outside, but this was a Brown Recluse- A really poisonous little thing- so instead of grabbing a Kleenex, I screamed and smashed it with a shoe. The body was still intact, so I pushed it into a drinking glass and began calling everybody that I know to find out if Brown Recluses live in groups. After my second frantic phone call, a boy selling magazine subscriptions came to my door, and I pulled him in to examine the dead spider. Of course, I was eventually wrangled into writing him a check for $30.00 for 12 issues of Popular Science. Ah, well.

So, as you can imagine, anything that brushed against my body in the night caused me to panic and flip on the lights and jump around brushing off my pajamas going "Ew, ew, ew!"

6:29 a.m. - 2003-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine