mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

for you

The boys- Matt A, Matt K, Ozzie, and Adrian- have these spots in the desert that they visit sometimes. Crystal and I went with them last night- She rescued me from work at midnight, and she casually ("casually," god bless her) mentioned that Ozzie was at Matt's house. Of course, I immediately broke into a shit-eating grin and begged her to go over there with me. (Ozzie, by the way, has no idea that I'm so enthralled by him. Well, he might, due to the drunken phone call I made last week, the one where I rambled on and on about how "nice" he is. This isn't a crush, I swear. It's just that I've never met anybody like Ozzie before, never. He's the living embodiment of unfailing kindness and and and I don't know. I just want to be his friend. Maybe learn something from him.) She agreed, and so we went. The guys had made plans to go four-wheeling- An activity which entails racing through big empty deserts and small valleys and over giant bumps in a truck. (Matt made a big point of telling me not to scream the whole time. I resented that. I'm a badass, man, not a screamer. I didn't scream ONCE. Actually, though, I am a screamer, not a badass, but I'm working on that.) We drove in three separate cars- Matt A, crystal, Ozzie, and I rode together- and we stopped at a flat, high spot near a waterfall. I was speechless. I'm not a nature girl, not by a long shot, but I wanted to stay there forever. I stood near the wreckage of a fallen building, staring into the sky, and then down at the water, and back at the sky again. My senses seemed sharper, somehow- I could hear twigs snapping and animals wailing and I could smell the faint, sweet aroma of the flowering bushes around me. I was full of the night, right then, full of the starlight and the desert dust and the wind, and I wanted to stay behind when my friends left.

I came home and wrote down every detail, so that I could look back on it and smell the air and feel the stones under my feet, and see the stars, all the stars, above me.

1:06 p.m. - 2003-06-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine