mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

deconstruction

So, I gave my landlords my thirty day notice yesterday. I'm moving out of my sweet, cute little apartment- MY apartment, MY space- into Mom's garage. I painted the walls blue just a few months ago, light blue, to match the carpet. And I've got my striped paintings up, the ones I got at the Goodwill for $3 each. Oh, and my little coffee table, the turquoise and red one with leopard spots on the top- That was the first piece of furniture I bought just for this place, after I moved out of the apartment I shared with Zach. Matt put my desk together for me one day last year, after I moved in. And then Crystal and I spray painted it red, but we did it in the living room with drop cloths over the futon and the tv. I know, I'm ranting. I know, I know. Getting this place on my own was a big thing for me. I was working at Mugshots when I moved in, and I remember that all of the women I worked with told me they were so proud- Two were stuck in unhappy marriages, and one was completely reliant on her boyfriend to pay her way, and I did what they all were too terrified to do. I set out alone, without anybody to help me, and they were almost... awestruck at that. My living room- My niece Autumn spent two days here wrecking the place, two lovely, wonderful days. And this bedroom has seen me cry and make love and scream and sing and create, and I'm leaving.

So it goes. And I'm doing this for my future, so I can go to school and learn new things, so I can become more than just a hostess at a shitty cafe. And I'm leaving. I'm gonna miss this place, but it'll be okay.

7:01 p.m. - 2003-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine