mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the hospital is closed.

My buddy Jeff is in the other room reading Preacher, and Matt and Ozzy are coming over tonight to sit around and drink beer and play guitar, and this makes me happy. Oh, and I finally found Volume Three of The Sandman, and that makes me happy, too. And the night before last, I had a nice, long talk with a man from work, Jack, about back when he was in the Navy. We talked (well, he talked, mainly- I just listened) about how he was what they called an "Optical Man," and about the times they docked in ports all over the world, in the Phillipines and Japan and Germany and Spain. The best part was how Jack looked after we finished talking- He was smiling, and he had this look in his eyes like he was someplace far, far away, a long time ago, like he was young again and seeing the world.

Sometimes I get so angry and sad, and I feel let down, but tonight, I've got these good, simple things to keep me quiet and content.

9:18 p.m. - 2003-08-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine