mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ch-ch-changes

Since I've been bedridden for the past week, I've had a lot of time for self-reflection. You know, I'm going to turn twenty-four in three months. Twenty-four. Young, still, very young, but it feels so old. I can't figure out where all of my time went. I started this journal almost five years ago, in March of 2002. When I started writing on diaryland, I was eighteen and I lived with Zach, my dog LaVerne, and his cat Futatsu in a tiny, one-bedroom apartment in Henderson. I worked at Mugshots with Nikki and Gloria. My closest friends were Matt, Erika, and Crystal. I spent a lot of time with my family-- My Mom, my sister Lise, my Grandma Shirley and Grandpa John, my cousin Nikki, and my god-daughter Tiara. I was poor and I thought I was miserable, but looking back, I was pretty happy. And now? I'm definitely happy, but everything has changed.
So, here we are, ladies and gents. What has changed since 2002?
-Nikki and Grandpa John have both died. Grandpa to lung cancer, Nikki to suicide.
-Tiara has moved to Michigan.
-I no longer work at Mugshots.
-I have moved five times-- out of the first apartment with Zach to my own right upstairs, to my Mom's again, to a place with Crystal and her boyfriend, to a house with Jeromy, to a half-house by myself.
-I have gone through five boyfriends: Zach, Bryant, Kevin, Jeromy, and Ethan.
-I got a new puppy in 2004, the adorable Argo.
-My social circle has totally changed-- I no longer speak to Crystal, see Matt about once a month or so, and talk to Erika on the phone every couple of weeks. I spend a lot of time with Adrian, Chloe, Zach, Ethan, Leslie, and Erin.
-I have stopped writing-- not writing like this, but really writing.
-I finally got a grown-up job with health insurance and a 401k.
-Here's the biggie: I have almost decided what to do with my life. Not quite, but I'm almost there.

On that note, I think I'm gonna go check out the UMICH page yet again.

5:27 p.m. - 2007-01-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine