mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mousy girl screams VIOLENCE

Six days until the UMich application deadline and I have been reviewing my essay responses daily for two weeks. I have responses for each of the questions in two different categories: witty and charming or bald-faced and bleakly honest. Sometimes a little of both. Why fake it? Why pretend that this means less to me than it does? I found a house in Southfield, part of a duplex that is right above my father's house. I've never lived with Dad before but his life is a whole hell of a lot like mine, coffee addiction, pet-obsession, institutional toilet-paper and all. I will be upstairs in a four room apartment, back deck overlooking the backyard that stretches into a patch of forest, the ceiling of the kitchen slanted like an attic bedroom. A few miles down the road from Aunt Terry and Tiara and Sammy Biscuit, few more miles from Katie and Chris and my sweet, crazy Aunt Sherri, close to Jess and the babies, not too far from the school my father wanted me to go to as a kid, Cranbrook. I am excited at how real it is, you know? How real I've made it, how close it is.
I met a cute Canadian named Daniel this week, spoke with him for four hours about politics and relationships and the politics of relationships and the politics of food and food production and farm boy Dan said he'd help me start my little subsistence farm when I'm ready. Another dream that is closer than I thought, you know? Within fifteen years I will have my farm! It feels awesome when pipe dreams start gaining weight and heft and you can almost touch them.

4:06 p.m. - 2007-02-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine