mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

making plans

Hey, wow, I just typed out a long, boring explanation as to why I am trapped at my Mom's house, but lookie here! Blank entry window! How about that. Fuck it, it was nothing spectacular anyhow.
Okay, so Matt and I are planning to take a trip in a couple of weeks but the agenda has changed three times over the last six days. First, we were going to spend three days in San Diego doing dorky fun shit like SeaWorld and the zoo and so on. Matt decided that that was lame and informed me that we were going to drive the Northern California coastline instead, stop in San Francisco for a day or two, and do the wine country thing. I'm generally pretty laid back about stuff like this, so I said yeah, sure, sounds great dear. So I did all this research on the various sights and activities and cool places to visit along our route and showed it to Matt, who THEN told me, you know, maybe we should not plan anything and just see what we can find on our own. Okay. I am not a vacation nazi like my Mother, who likes everything planned out minute by minute, who wakes us all up at 6 fucking am to go stand in line for pictures with fucking Tinkerbell and throws temper tantrums when she is the only one awake and raring to go before the sun comes up, but I do like SOME structure. I only get so much time off per year, and when I take a week off to travel, I want to see something other than the inside of my car. Matt's "Let's just wander" idea is all well and good if you get more than two weeks off annually and can afford to go fuck around in the middle of nowhere, but I cannot. I want to spend my week off actually enjoying my vacation, not toodling around, lost in the middle of California, stuck inside my effing car. Turns out I needn't worry at all, because this morning, I received a phone call from my beloved asking could we maybe scrap California altogether and fly to Philly instead? Matt doesn't know it, but no matter how spontaneous he wants this trip to be, I will be researching our destination and orchestrating a memorable, fantastic trip that is more than just sleeping in in a different state. I'm just not planning on telling him.

3:43 p.m. - 2008-02-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine