mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

grown up

Hey, well, I'm twenty-five now. You all met me back when I was nineteen years old, just six years ago, but it feels like a lifetime. It was an important six years, I guess. Back when I was nineteen I thought I was so grown-up, living on my own and paying my own bills, working full-time at Mugshots (back when I was a waitress, remember that?) and having fun playing House in my little apartment. Since those days a lot has happened, the kind of shit that happens to everybody, I guess: I fell in love a few times, got fucked over a few times, did some fucking over of my own here and there, lost some old friends to time, lost some family to death, worked jobs I hated, worked jobs I loved, made some new friends, and so on. And after all that stuff, well, I guess I feel a lot older now than I did when I started this journal. I feel twenty-five today. It has nothing to do with birthdays. I've had twenty-five years worth of living, I guess, twenty-five years of reallyreallygood and reallyreallybad and the mundane stretches of calm and easy everyday life in between. I'm pretty happy with where I am at twenty-five. I guess that even though I am not quite where I always thought I would be at this age, I'm doing a good job of rolling with the punches and becoming who I want to be. And so it goes.

12:36 p.m. - 2008-04-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine