mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

The past month of my life has been a blur. Work, finals, the baby, my sister moving in, minor financial woes, our first family Christmas, and a few small health issues thrown in for good measure. Aside from my new and exciting destitution (I'm exaggerating. A little.) and my previous BAD decision to keep my wisdom teeth, everything has been good. Better than good. I am trying hard to build these family traditions for Elliott, specifically regarding Christmas and the holidays. You know, my family, they can be nuts and occasionally unpleasant, but I have always loved our holiday traditions. Dinner at Mom's, mountains of presents, coffee and card games for hours. Makes me think of Nikki. Drinking coffee with her and yelling for her to hurry up and come back to the table after she wandered away for one reason or another, all of us waiting for her to take her turn. I miss her the most around the holidays. I have probably written this before, but I am sad that Elliott will grow up with her just being a bunch of stories and old pictures. When Tiara was born, I was so awed by the sudden shift in who Nicole was-- she was my cousin and friend one moment, and the next, she was a mom. I kept saying it over and over the first few months after she had the baby-- Woah, Nikki, you're a MOM. Wish I could hear her voice saying that to me. On our recent trip to Michigan, Chris was afraid to go into the basement. He asked me, "Where?" and I pointed to a wall that my aunt put up a few years back when she built a studio apartment down there, and maybe she put it up just to cover the thick pipe that used to jut out from the ceiling. The last few times I visited I would come to the basement and put my hand on that pipe, I don't know why. Now it is behind plaster and paint. That is probably for the best.

3:37 p.m. - 2011-12-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine