mainsqueeze's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I came home from work yesterday, and everything was fine. Crystal was with me, and we were giggling and holding hands and making plans for the day. I felt whole, full, and happy.

And then I looked at the caller ID display window on my telephone, and I saw Matt's number. And I called him back.

Crystal sat next to me with her hand on my knee while I spoke with him. Carrie had a girl, 7lbs, dark hair and dark eyes. He's still working at the same place, still meeting with Ozzy a few times a week to write songs. He misses me. He told me that he wrote a list of the top five most important friendships he's ever had, and that I was second on it. I asked him who was number one.

"I lied," he said. "You were number one."

And then my heart, my tough, calloused heart, broke a little bit.

9:34 p.m. - 2003-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

fellbehind
drowning13
facepunch
jwinokur
molu4
frances1972
secret-motel
dinosaurs
beltedweir
hissandtell
pajamaman
mare-ingenii
tonality
ursamajor
ohsuperego
idlehopes
tooths
snowconecoma
crowdedroom
throwingjuly
linguafranca
youareokok
sweetmachine